Close this search box.


In the News: 2023 Heart of the School Award Winners & Honorees

Out of 770 nominations for 105 principals, five Baltimore City Public School principals were selected as winners of the 2023 Heart of the School Awards, an annual event highlighting exceptional principals. We’re thrilled to shine a light on their exceptional work, as each has built exemplary school cultures where students are excited to attend school every day, teachers are inspired and valued, and parents feel welcome and included. The five winners are joined by five honorees, each of whom has demonstrated exemplary innovation, execution, and leadership in building strong school cultures. These ten principals will be honored at the annual Heart of the School Awards and in addition to being celebrated by their peers, each will receive funding of up to $2,500 to support needs at their schools. Congratulations to this year’s Heart of the School Award Winners and Honorees!

WBAL-TV 11 News, the Heart of the School program’s media partner, recently covered all five winners! Take a look:
Mark Bongiovanni, Curtis Bay Elementary School – Curtis Bay principal honored with ‘Heart of the School’ award
Tiffany Etheridge, Belmont Elementary School – Belmont Elementary students credit principal for school’s success
Peter Kannam, Elmer A. Henderson: A Johns Hopkins Partnership School – Positively Baltimore: City Schools principals empower students to succeed 
Brandon Pinkney, Walter P. Carter Elementary Middle School – ‘Heart of the Schools’ winner city principal Brandon PinkneyWalter P. Carter principal receives Heart of the Schools Award for dedication to students, teachers
Jacqueline Williams, Director of the Baltimore Polytechnic Institute – ‘Heart of the Schools’ winner Poly’s director Jacqueline Williams 

Over the past five weeks, each of the Heart of the School Award principal Honorees joined Mike Haynie on the Wake Up Baltimore Monday morning podcast. Check out their episodes below:
Kelly Casagrande, Charm City Virtual/Virtual Learning Program East
Venus Jackson, Harlem Park Elementary Middle School
Nichelle Johnson-Walker, Morrell Park Elementary Middle School
Aleesha Manning, Cecil Elementary School
Cheyanne Zahrt, City Neighbors High School

The Heart of the School Awards will take place on Thursday, May 25th at the Hippodrome Theatre. The Heart of the Schools is the Fund for Educational Excellence’s year-round program that celebrates and supports Baltimore City Public Schools principals through recognition, grants and events.

Share this post

Scroll to Top