Close this search box.


In the News: 2024 Heart of the School Awards Winners & Honorees

After reviewing a record-breaking 1,340 nominations for 117 principals, five Baltimore City Public School principals were selected as winners of the 2024 Heart of the School Awards, the annual awards program recognizing exceptional principals for demonstrating exemplary innovation, execution and leadership in building strong school cultures. The five winners are joined by five honorees and will be recognized at the Heart of the School Awards on Wednesday, May 22, 2024, at the Hippodrome Theatre. In addition to being celebrated by their peers, each winner will receive a $2,500 grant to support needs at their schools. Congratulations to this year’s Heart of the School Award Winners and Honorees!

WBAL-TV 11 News, the Heart of the School program’s media partner, recently covered all five winners! Take a look:

Justin Holbrook, Armistead Gardens Elementary/Middle School:

Rashida Ford, Booker T. Washington Middle School:

Benjamin Mosley, Glenmount Elementary/Middle School:

Natasha Pouncey – Hamilton Elementary/Middle School:

Amanda Rice, Hazelwood Elementary/Middle School

In early March, the Heart of the Schools Selection Committee visited all five Winning principals at their schools to surprise them with the news of their Heart of the School Awards win. Baltimore City Public Schools joined us for the reveals and put together a video capturing the principals’ reactions. Check it out:

Celebrating the 2024 Heart of the Schools Winners

Over the past few weeks, some of the Heart of the School Award principal Honorees joined Mike Haynie on the Wake Up Baltimore Monday morning podcast. Check out their episodes below:

The Heart of the Schools is the Fund for Educational Excellence’s year-round program that celebrates and supports Baltimore City Public Schools principals through recognition, grants and events.

Share this post

Scroll to Top